Vlog much?

Something that has taken up a lot of my time lately (other than my job obviously…) is watching vlogs on YouTube. I don’t know why I am so fascinated with the lives of vloggers across the globe, but once I watch video, I end up watching 2 hours worth… which is a lot for 10 min. videos…

And through all this, I have determined that I want to be a vlogger, probably like most young adults who are plugged in to YouTube and I wish it was as easy as saying “I want to do this so I’m going to do it”. But life doesn’t always work like that. And with the risk of seeming pessimistic, here are some reasons why it’s not going to happen:

A. I am awkward, un-photogenic, and my voice sounds like a baby when recorded. eww.

B. I already have a full time job as a teacher. Could you imagine if my students stumbled upon one of my videos… yikes.

C. I have a really low quality phone/camera so I would never be able to record it properly.

So I’ve come to the realization that many of these vloggers are successful in making a living off something that wasn’t even really a thing just 5 years ago and all the opportunities that have followed. It’s not really fair, is it? One minute they’re ordinary people, the next, they are ordinary people with more money than they know what to do with and millions of “followers” just for taking a camera with them everywhere they go.

I’m sorry, I didn’t mean for this to be so bitter sounding… 😦 But if I am going to be truthful, I am jealous of these people (and not proud of it) for having the ability, skills, time, energy, dedication, resources, and such… who are able to live these fascinating lives. But I’ll try to keep my attitude in check and cool down with a short vlog clip…

x emily.

Leave a Reply

